FeS2: A try to describe a species in the Lusatian Tertiary

The compound of sulfur and iron always concerned the peoples mind. As Fool’s Gold it cheated the inexperienced treasure hunter since ancient times.

In the early 20th century, FeS2 minerals serve as feedstock for the production of sulfuric acid and therefore the upcoming chemical industry. Beside the economic aspect of the deposit, today FeS2 is watched stronger under environmentally relevant points of view.

In the area of the Lusatian lignite district, not the cubic crystallizing pyrite, but rather the solely orthorhombic marcasite can be found in tertiary units. Distinct effects of anisotropy in crossed polarized light distinguish him from his isotropic sibling, which, in geological context, originates in rather high formation temperatures.

The orthorhombic bipyramidal crystal class can be recognized at some larger crystals, like, for example, on joint surfaces of the 2. Lusatian seam (picture). Even partly very nice twinning can be observed.

 

A variety represents the framboise marcasite. Here, it is a matter of spherical aggregates up to 50 µm in diameter, composed of numerous bipyramidal microcrystals in nanometer range. In literature this structure is explained by microbial origin and occurs in many sites of the stratigraphic sequence of the Lusatian Tertiary.

Framboise marcasite

 

Beside these structures, recrystallization phenomena of the probably primary framboise marcasite can be observed. Under the microscope, they occur as joint filling or concretions. In the period of diagenesis, the presence of hollows, like cells in lignite timber, or open joint areas as well as diffusion processes in those hollows, play a decisive role.

 

The interesting thing beside the scientific point of view is, that the framboise phases have an essential bigger reactive surface than the recrystallized objects. This lead, under the influence of atmospheric oxygen, to a quicker and more effective oxidation and by association to a more intense acidification reaction of the affected sediments.

#
Our locations
#
Our locations

INA, Rümelinstraße 23
72070 TÜBINGEN

Phone:+49 (0) 7071 2974688
Fax:+49 (0) 7071 295727
E-Mail:bertrand.ligouis@uni-tuebingen.de

requests »

Straße der Freundschaft 92
02991 LAUTA

Phone:+49 (0) 35722 91180
Fax:+49 (0) 35722 91181
E-Mail:info@laop-consult.de

requests »

FeS2: Versuch einer Artbeschreibung im Lausitzer Tertiär

Die Verbindung aus Schwefel und Eisen berührt seit jeher die Gemüter der Menschen. Als Narrengold (Fool´s Gold) oder Katzengold täuscht es die unerfahrenen Schatzsucher seit der Antike.

Im frühen 20. Jh. dienten FeS2-Minerale als Rohstoff für die Schwefelsäureproduktion und damit der aufkeimenden chemischen Industrie. Neben dem lagerstättenwirtschaftlichen Aspekt wird heutzutage der sogenannte Schwefelkies immer stärker unter umweltrelevanten Gesichtspunkten beobachtet.

Im Bereich des Lausitzer Braunkohlenreviers wird in den tertiären Schichten nicht der kubisch kristallisierende Pyrit sondern ausschließlich orthorhombischer Markasit angetroffen. Deutliche Anisotropieeffekte im gekreuzt polarisierten Licht, unterscheiden ihn von seinem isotropen Bruder, welchem im geologischen Kontext eher hohe Bildungstemperaturen zugeschrieben werden.

Die orthorhombisch-dipyramidale Kristallklasse lässt sich an einigen großen Kristallen, wie z.B. auf Kluftflächen im 2. Lausitzer Flöz, gut erkennen (Foto). Auch sind teilweise sehr schöne Zwillingsbildungen zu beobachten.

 

Eine Sonderform stellt der framboidale (framboise – franz. Himbeere) Markasit dar. Hierbei handelt es sich um kugelige Aggregate bis zu 50 µm Durchmesser, bestehend aus zahlreichen dipyramidalen Mikrokristallen im Nanometerbereich. Dieser Form werden in der Literatur mikrobielle Ursprünge zugeschrieben und sie findet sich an vielen Stellen der tertiären Schichtenfolge der Lausitz.

Framboider Markasit

 

Neben diesen Einzelformen können auch Rekristallisationserscheinungen des, vermutlich primär framboidalen, Markasits beobachtet werden. Diese treten makroskopisch als derbe Kluftfüllungen oder Konkretionen in Erscheinung. Während des Zeitraums der Diagenese spielen dabei das Vorhandensein von Hohlräumen, wie Zellen von Braunkohlenhölzern oder offene Kluftbereiche, sowie Diffusionsprozesse innerhalb dieser Hohlräume, entscheidende Rollen.

 

Das Interessante außerhalb wissenschaftlicher Betrachtungen ist, dass die framboidalen Phasen eine wesentlich größere reaktive Oberfläche aufweisen, als die Rekristallisate. Dies führt unter Einfluss von Luftsauerstoff zu einer schnelleren und effektiveren Oxidation, und damit auch intensiveren Versauerungsreaktion der betroffenen Sedimente, als bei primär rekristallisiertem Markasit.

#
Unsere Standorte
#
Unsere Standorte

INA, Rümelinstraße 23
72070 TÜBINGEN

Tel.:+49 (0) 7071 2974688
Fax:+49 (0) 7071 295727
E-Mail:bertrand.ligouis@uni-tuebingen.de

anfragen »

Straße der Freundschaft 92
02991 LAUTA

Tel.:+49 (0) 35722 91180
Fax:+49 (0) 35722 91181
E-Mail:info@laop-consult.de

anfragen »